Living my dream

By Mima

What am I missing???

Nothing was happening except I was grabbing shots while she was looking angelic. 

Just before I took this photo Bean was fast asleep - see the extra. Like all dogs she has the amazing ability to go from a coma to fully alert in a the blink of an eye. 

Unlike me. I woke slowly this morning, from a disturbingly vivid dream about an old friend. Before I had come round fully there was a 30kg dog walking around on my bed (and on me) wagging and wiggling, ecstatic that I was showing signs of life. Oh Bean... what a delightful (but sometimes slightly over-enthusiastic) wake-up you are.

It is a day of cooler weather while a huge sub-Antarctic low zooms past just south of the country today and tomorrow. We are getting one wee front after another with sunshine in between. Rain is welcome, but honestly if it's going to rain I do wish it would pour. The light showers are useless at providing water for the plants, although they are wet enough to stop me line-trimming or mowing.

Mind you, I'm not short of things to do. 

Having picked beans, courgettes and tomatoes in sunny spells, I'm going to make a flan, for which I have a craving. I have mixed a sourdough loaf which is now proving, and I've made a batch of guacamole for the freezer using avocadoes sent to me by a friend from the north. She sent me a dozen: far too many for one girl to eat as they ripen. Thank goodness guac is delicious and freezes well.

I shall spend some of the afternoon in front of the computer, getting my entries in for (quite a few) classes in the upcoming A&P Show. There are three weeks to go and I'm starting to watch the garden very carefully - some might say obsessively - taking extra care of things that I hope to exhibit. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.