Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Chillington Sunrise

There have been some great sunrises in the last week, mainly due to the high cloud in the atmosphere as the sun rose.  Today was more of the same, but for once I was in position to take advantage.  

This is Chillington Estate, just outside Codsall.

Afterwards there was more water sampling to be done, followed by a drive up the M6 to Winsford.  It's frustrating at how poor drivers' lane discipline is on the motorways.  It was relatively quiet and I was able to progress in the inside lane for long stretches of the motorway (which is mainly 4 lane up to Manchester).  I was regularly passed by vehicles resolutely sticking to the 3rd or even outside lane with nothing in the lanes between us.

Even worse on one occasion there was a vehicle ahead in the 3rd lane and I was going quicker, so to overtake I had to cross three lanes.  I made a point of pulling back into the inside lane after overtaking, but it was as if the driver was oblivious to his poor driving.  I'm sure some drivers think the inside two lanes are for lorries and its best to keep out of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.