earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Lomo Gordo

Our last full day in La Gomera saw us take a trip to the north of the island to explore around Hermigua, a typically charming and sleepy little town. The weather continues to be hot here. We've been told that it's a good ten degrees warmer than would normally be expected at this time of year, which is not good for the farming community. January is meant to be the wettest month and there's been no rain - with none on the horizon either.

While E sensibly returned to San Sebastian for an afternoon swim, I was foolishly seduced by the climb of Lomo Gordo, if for no other reason than wanting to prove to myself that the trail actually exists. Looking up at the 700m wall of rock from the bottom it's not just that there's no visible evidence of a path but the impossibility of there being one at all. The start took a little bit of finding, a series of concrete steps that led directly to the trail, very similar to yesterday's, just steeper, countless rough steps zig-zagging vertiginously up the mountain, offering fabulous views all the way. This shot is looking straight down to the church at Hermigua, above which the trail starts.

With two decent mountain runs in the last two days, my legs were incapable of generating any power today. With no wind and the sun reflecting back off the rock on the way up, I wouldn't have been surprised if the temperature was well over 30 deg. Descending the other side, following a route from the map proved quite tricky and after a few navigational errors (more down to the map, I believe, than my own making!), I realised that I was going to be cutting it very fine for the last bus back from Vallehermoso. I decided I didn't need that stress, so for once I did the sensible thing and returned from Las Rosas, although not before getting totally confused in a maze of paths and minor roads, which never wanted to take me to where I could see I needed to be. It has to be said that the signposting on the island is generally excellent. This was the one place where I found it wanting.

So, while I was in the mountains today, you guys sent lots of love and a stream of messages on my ten year blip. Once you miss a few days, these anniversaries come out of nowhere. For me, it was a shock, in that it means that I've got the best part of a thousand missing days! One day, if life ever gives me the chance, I might fill in the holes. You're inspiring me to be better at this lark than I've managed in recent years.This site is the most wonderful vehicle for recording a life, and the community here is undoubtedly the most generous and gracious on the whole of the internet. Thanks to everyone who has stopped by, with so little reciprocity on my part. You're all stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.