earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Tenerife

We were up early for the 7am ferry to Tenerife for an afternoon flight back to Leeds. The time passed quickly on the shorefront at Los Cristianos, drinking our last coffee in the sun, and last fresh orange juice. The only hiccup was when the airport bus went straight past the crowded stop, the driver oblivious to the many of us waiting. We now know you're supposed to jump out in front and wave frantically! Coming to the big island from La Gomera is like visiting a major city from a tiny village. Thankfully, not too many people know about the magic to be found in the village. I'm only sharing that here because I know you'll keep the secret to yourselves. It's a very special place. I can't quite believe it's taken me so long to discover it.

This shot is looking southwest, down the length of Tenerife, towards Teide, with the mountains of La Gomera just about visible behind. At 3,715m high, Teide should have snow this time of year. It certainly had some when I previously photographed it from the air in March of 2018. It has none at the moment.

Arrived in Leeds to wind and rain. Although it was mild for January, the temperature was a shock to the system, not helped by still being in my shorts. The trousers were buried in my rucksack. Schoolboy error. I'm still making them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.