secret garden

By freespiral

In search of Brigid

St Brigid's Day/Imbolg/Spring dawned soft and pinkish, Himself had to go and have his bloods done very early but when he returned I headed off to Lough Hyne in search of a holy well! It was absolutely still and the colours were incredible - for some reason this little inlet has the most astonishing blues. I'm sure I've wafted on about the lake before - it's a phenomenon - a saltwater lake which is also tidal and is full of interesting marine life- and swimmers today which can be a bit of a bane for the marine life.
 Anyway, my holy well lies somewhere up on those cliffs. It's on private land and a bit controversial, but last time I came the portals miraculously opened. Today they remained firmly shut - massive gates and fences and no-one around. I  reluctantly conceded defeat (it was a Brigid well alas) and went to visit the other two wells in the vicinity instead,  I left one of my crosses in the Eye Well and availed of some water. I was amazed to see someone else at the second well, filling large bottles. We had a chat and he told me he came every week to top up for his drinking water, he didn't like mains water. I gently inquired if the water boiled - for as you will know by now, holy well water should never be used for making a cuppa and if it is, it won't boil - he assured me it did. That's odd!

I'm just back from a book launch in Ballydehob, a friend of mine has done a second volume called Extraordinary, Ordinary Women, about the women who literally risked life and limb, on one side or another, during the Irish Civil War.  Their stories had been forgotten or even suppressed in favour the men, and Karen has given them back their due.  Very fitting for St Brigid's Day which has now turned wet and mizzly.

And the short piece about wells I was interviewed for a while back was in today's local paper. Not too bad.

And Himself has just made  boxty - traditional fare for the day that's in it - very tasty accompanied with cabbage and mushy peas! We are now full. Happy St Brigid's Day.  More to come with a weekend of festivities! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.