Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Spot the Birds

A lot of them look like leaves...and vice-versa. I didn't take this picture in mono but I might as well have. The forecast called for showers today but I think it may have rained more than it did yesterday. The weather people say that yesterday's atmospheric river was not as strong as expected, but today gave us no chance to get Spike out for a walk or to plan anything. There were unpredictable intermittent breaks followed by unpredictable cloudbursts, sometimes in the sunshine. I was hopeful of a rainbow, but I didn't spot one.

I had fun this morning on a Goth website picking out some birthday gifts for grandaughter Maya. I was trying to find some things that didn't have skulls or skeletons that might still be acceptable to her. I hope she doesn't hate them....

John was required as my designated caretaker to go to my pre-op appointment today, so he got to cope with rain so heavy driving over Fountaingrove that it was difficult to see the road. X-rays were taken so 'they can fit the prosthesis'. We then saw yet another assistant, the surgical nurse practitioner, I think, who went through the whole procedure with us. I looked over at John at one point and he was looking quite pale. He is not a big boy when it comes to descriptions of medical procedures.

Aside from on the day of surgery, I don't see the surgeon again until April. I have several appointments with several other people before then. 

Driving back over Fountaingrove we were hit again by the monsoon. Dana texted last night and said she was planning to walk home from work but wondered if we could be a backup lift. She texted today to say she was walking home and 'no rain so far'. I looked out the window and it was pouring. We haven't heard from her again so I assume she soldiered on as I would have predicted she would. Even with backup in place the weather has been so quixotic that it is difficult to plan anything. And though it is definitely atmospheric, it doesn't exactly seem like a river.

I think I'm ready now for a glass of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.