My day

By 59

Bend zee knees

Here I am on the indoor bike. It takes two of us to get me safely up there with a step. I can move my foot up higher today with a bit more bend. Yay. 

We drove up to see the surgeon in Orange today. He is such a friendly chap. Was very happy with the way I can straighten my leg but gave me some tips on getting it to bend further and a better way to use the crutches. He peeled the dressing and 25 steri strips off. It didn’t hurt at all much to my delight. The wound is looking good. Now some (most) people don’t like to see wounds so I’m not posting a photo.  That was Maddy’s advice and she has a strong stomach. It does look a bit like a roast pork ready to go in the oven. Ok if anyone really wants a picture let me know and I’ll happily share. Ha ha. The stitches dissolve and it is has super glue on it. 

I had a list of questions and he happily answered them including one from a friend. What happens when you are cremated. Apparently they get the hardware out from the ashes and send them to a recycling depot in Germany as the metal is rare. I’m not sure anyone has asked him that before so there you go. I like recycling and reusing stuff so am happy with that answer. The cement they use is the same as used by dentists.

The 50 minute trip to Orange was awful. I couldn’t get comfortable. The trip home was almost as bad. It was the worst I’ve felt in 2+ weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.