Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Green Eggs, No Ham

(Sorry Dr. Seuss.)  Sometimes I get fresh eggs from my cross-road neighbor and what a treat.  Not only for the freshness of the eggs but I may get some "Easter eggs". These two green eggs have just been washed and are ready for the fry pan. No meat for me but vegetarian bacon is great.  When hens lay eggs, they have a protective coating that preserves the egg, but commercial companies remove this protective coating, so the egg begins losing its freshness very soon.  In fact, the egg you buy in the store can be up to two months old.  Safe to eat, of course, but with pale yolks and runny whites, they are tasteless to me.  There is nothing like a really fresh egg for flavor.  Here's a link to the Easter Egg hens...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.