Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHOSE IS WHICH ON FLOWER FRIDAY?

We have had a lovely morning and part of the afternoon today.  Mr. HCB had said at the beginning of the week that he would take me to the garden centre at Lechlade for a coffee - but no cake - because he needed to buy some manure and also some seed and cutting compost - so wanted to “kill two birds with one stone”.  Not sure I was one of the “birds” but I went along for the ride!

It’s one of those garden centres that sells everything - well almost everything.  I saw a lovely pair of flowery shoes in the Pavers shop, but they hurt my feet, so tried on a bigger size and they were too big - it’s beginning to sound like a Cinderella fairy story - so they were no good.  The assistant looked rather askance at me, but I told her that if I couldn’t wear something outrageous at my age, I didn’t have much time left to do that!  She did laugh though and wandered away.  Mr. HCB and I carried on wandering around and I spied these wonderful wellie boots and thought they would be great for Flower Friday and perhaps afterwards I could work in the garden and even wander around my field wearing them.  

They were originally £29.99, reduced to £14.99 and then today there was an extra 20% off so I got them for £11.99 - what a bargain and too good a chance to miss!

Meanwhile, Mr. HCB had gone to find his manure and potting and seed compost.  He came back to find me trying on jumpers and anoraks at Cotton Traders and generally enjoying myself with the help of the lovely assistants there, Karen and Sara and another lovely lady.   However, they didn’t have my size for one of the jumpers and the anorak, so we tried to order them but for some reason my card was rejected - why I don’t know because it has been current for almost two years!

By this time Mr. HCB had come back with his manure etc and we left with just that and my new flowery wellies.  On the way home, we called into another Cotton Traders store and they managed to order the said jumper and anorak, so that will be arriving next week sometime.  So exciting to be having some new clothes - oh and I nearly forgot I did buy a fuchsia pink jumper too, so the cold  can stay as long as it wants now!

When we got home, Mr. HCB lugged these 3 80 litre bags of manure round to our back garden, so I decided it would be a good idea to show you my new wellies.  I know I have told you these are mine, but can you honestly see Mr. HCB wearing them?  Come to that, can you see me wearing them?  I will wear the wellies, Mr. HCB will grow the flowers and vegetables, and we will both be happy and the manure is peat-free so win/win! 

Have a great weekend - I just want some rain now so that I can splash around in some puddles! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.