Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GETTING BACK INTO IT!

I have been back at the Community Fridge for about a month now and although I am very happy to be back, I still get very tired.

The idea was that I would be part of the Knit and Natter group that meets from 11.30 to 1.30, but I like to be there before 11 o’clock, because we always pray at 10.55 a.m.  We were a bit short staffed today, so it was “all hands to the pump” and there weren’t that many at the K & N group, so it enabled me to chat to people in the café.  

I did have some good conversations this morning and was particularly glad that a young couple I had spoken to a couple of weeks ago were back again and the Mother of a gorgeous little girl had been to the Pram Club, which is held on a Friday morning.  She told me that she had also met someone from her country and they had exchanged telephone numbers.  It is so good when we can bring people together like this and she was beaming as she told me.  It must be so hard for them when they are in a foreign country and I often wonder how I would cope if the positions were reversed.

I chatted to two Portuguese ladies;  one said she had a very bad headache and she did look quite pale, so I asked if she would like me to pray for her and she said she would, so I did - there and then - no time like the present - and she said a resounding Amen at the end of my short prayer.  

I wandered around chatting to various people and had another good conversation with a man who told me how he makes his pasta sauce - I said that he had been very helpful because I had visited an Italian friend yesterday and had come home with pasta, tomatoes and oregano, so having spoken to him too, I was all ready to make my sauce.

My collage shows lots of different things we had in the Community Fridge today - from bread to cookies, lots of different vegetables and loads and loads of bread - most of which didn’t count in their five items today because we needed to give it away and we aren’t open again until Monday.

I rescued some tulips and brought them home - thinking of Flower Friday - but they do look rather sorry, so I’m hoping they will revive a little, but if not, as I told Meg, they will still be beautiful.  I’m not sure she believed me though!  Meg is usually on the door at the Community Fridge and is always joking so there are plenty of smiles from those who come through the door.

Dianne was busy starting a new crochet project and reading the pattern out loud - so I didn’t interrupt her, apart from which, I don’t know much about crochet so couldn’t be much help, so I chatted to Jackie, who had forgotten her knitting, so we just enjoyed chatting.

The beautiful knitted jumper in the middle was being done by Val, who wasn’t actually in the K & N group this morning, but who had brought it to show me.  I’m not sure that any horse I knitted would look quite like this so well done, Val!

In fact, the sorry saga of my knitting is quite sad.  I had just ordered 8 balls of beautiful yarn to make more fingerless gloves, but it has proved to be quite difficult with the allergy I am experiencing in my eyes.  I have therefore emailed the company who have agreed to take back the 7 unused balls and credit me.  I have started knitting again with some cotton yarn - a boring dishcloth - but I will look for some other cotton yarn as this seems not to affect me.  I guess a handmade dishcloth is a fairly good gift and at least love is woven into each stitch!

Feet up time now before I have to cook our evening meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.