Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MARIA

I wasn’t sure whether I needed to go to the hairdresser today as my hair didn’t seem to have grown that much, but Mr. HCB wisely told me that if I cancelled this week’s appointment, then by the weekend, I would be grumbling about the state of my hair - he knows me so well!

So off I went just before 9 o’clock this morning and met the lovely Fran - she with the beautiful hair and me with t he almost Snow White hair in the top right!  

We had a good chat while she was cutting my hair and when I told her I wanted it more feathery and frondy, she understood perfectly what I wanted and did a great job.  

My sister, who also goes to Fran, told me that she didn’t like having her photograph taken, so I took the first shot of the various bits and pieces on the side without her in it - and when I told her she wasn’t in the shot, she told me she didn’t mind - hence the second shot!  She is a lovely lady and I really enjoy going to see her.

It didn’t take too long and I had decided that I would go and visit our old neighbour again - you will see from my journal entry on 18th January, that I called to see her.  We were neighbours for about 8 years in the 1970s and 80s until we moved into our present house in 1982, but we have always stayed in touch over the years.  I knew it was her birthday today, so had intended to buy her some daffodils, but the only shop in the area didn’t have any, so I bought her some biscuits instead - no good buying young ladies of 95 bric-a-brac, because at that age, they are generally trying to get rid of it!

She was pleased to see me and ushered me into her kitchen which was lovely and warm and then she asked if I would like a cup of coffee.  Italian coffee is the sort that “puts hairs on your chest” and is never served with milk, as I have grown to understand, so I just asked that it wouldn’t be too strong.  When I saw her putting the coffee into the coffee maker, I knew that I would just have to shut my eyes, grit my teeth and drink it!  Actually it wasn’t that bad and I quite enjoyed it.  

What made it go down better was the lovely cake that Maria had made - and you can see her cutting a piece off for me to bring home for Mr. HCB at the bottom right.  She told me to cut a slice for myself, so I cut just a sliver - trying very hard not to sabotage my new eating plan.  If you could see the size of the slice she has sent for Mr. HCB, I will have to ask him to eat it out of my sight, because it was so delicious!  She is expecting her family to call in and see her later, and I'm sure they will enjoy the lovely cake!  

We then started talking about pasta and I asked Maria how she cooked it and what sort of sauce she used - if an Italian can’t cook pasta, then who can?  She was so generous and I came home with pasta, a tin of the special tomatoes she uses, tomato puree and then a small jar of home grown and dried oregano!  You can guess what we will having for our evening meal!

I have promised to go back soon and take Mr. HCB because Maria was asking about him.

I hope I look as good as Maria when I am 95 years old - HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Maria - it was lovely to see you and to talk about old times - we have so many happy memories of living next door to them.  

Thank you all so much for your kind comments on yesterday’s Blip and my musings - when I think about life, I could have just sent Maria a card for her birthday, but spending time with her today was most precious - and I hope she enjoyed it as much as I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.