VISITING OUR DEAR FRIEND, KEITH

Keith’s son, Graham, had asked if we would like to go and see his Dad today, and we were pleased to be able to do so - in fact, we had kept the afternoon free in case we could go again.  However, we could see a marked change in Keith today.  Graham had told us that his Dad was very sleepy and he was - and, in fact, didn’t wake until we had been there for over an hour.

Keith’s bed had been turned so that he could see straight out through the window, if he was awake, so Mr. HCB and I just sat together, chatting and watching the birds and squirrels - see my extra collage for the antics of the naughty squirrel.  In fact, Mr. HCB said that he had seen more birds this afternoon than when he went walking around a nearby Water Park with a friend this morning. 

We saw blue tits, great tits, long-tailed tits, robins, dunnocks, chaffinches, redwings, which are a type of thrush, a blackbird and a green woodpecker.  

About 10 minutes before we left, Keith opened his eyes and tried to speak, but his voice was so low that we couldn’t really understand what he said, but he smiled at us, which was enough. Mr. HCB told Keith one or two things about the English cricket team and again, he smiled.

I had taken my Bible with me, so read the 23rd Psalm to Keith and then we both prayed with him before leaving - we may not see him again in this life, but once again, it was a real privilege to spend time with this Godly man.

I had seen this beautiful piece of artwork last week and decided to Blip it today.  It was made in 2004, by Prospect patients, staff and volunteers and is entitled “Making Each Day Count”.  I asked one of the nurses if she knew the story behind it, but unfortunately she didn’t.  She then asked the Matron, but neither of them knew the story - except to think, as I did, that each tile was of some significance to the person who had drawn, painted and coloured each one.  It certainly brightens up the wall just near the Nursing Station.

I apologise for not commenting yesterday, but I was so tired I had an early night.  Tonight I have a Pastoral Care meeting at Church, so probably won’t be doing much commenting this evening either - so please forgive me.  

“There are far, far better things ahead 
     than any we leave behind” 
C.S. Lewis

“God, my shepherd!
     I don’t need a thing.
Even when the way 
     goes through Death Valley,
          I’m not afraid
               when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
     makes me feel secure.”
Psalm 23 : 1 & 4 - The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.