Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Bamburgh

(Best viewed large on black)

It’s an early start today for sunrise photographs at Bamburgh - and it’s definitely worth it! As soon as we step outside our HPB accommodation, we’re greeted by a pink-red glow in the sky - and strong gusts of chilly wind. I suspect I might have problems with my tripod! 

I feel quite daunted heading out into a dark unknown. Ideally we’d have had a practice run in daylight yesterday, but arriving in the dark it wasn’t possible - so it takes a while to find the ‘right’ spot to get those sunrise shots. And this is quite some sunrise! 

I’m right about my tripod - the wind is just too strong. But the colours now are just incredible;  purple-blue sky flooded by magenta, red and orange - I’ve tried to desaturate my shots yet still they seem too intense to be real. The tide is high, but now falling, leaving wet sand that reflects the reds and oranges like streams of molten lava. 

Later - after breakfast - we return to Harkness Rocks. This is now a different world of blue skies and scudding clouds, spindrift waves, the clearest light and fabulous reflections. 

And later still we continue down the coast, exploring further beauty - but that’s for another day. Today belongs to Bamburgh - and there’s an inevitable set 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.