Arachne

By Arachne

I have come to Bristol for the UK National Beatbox Championships. Long ago, there was a beatboxing blipper but I suspect I'm the only one here this weekend.

This evening was the eliminations - to whittle down those who'd got through the advance video selection to a manageable number for the knock-out battles tomorrow.

My favourite beatboxer wasn't in the eliminations for solos but is competing in the duos (called 'tags' or 'teams' in beatboxing lingo) - see extra. Their entry video is here. They came top this evening so I'm crossing my fingers for tomorrow.

There was a showcase from the 2023 European champion, Colaps (French-Colombian, on the right in this video). I don't know enough about the technicalities of beatboxing to assess his skills, but I enjoyed standing in a room full of the UK's best beatboxers hearing collective intakes of breath and mutterings of 'How did he do that?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.