Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

And breathe

A journey into the unknown today. Was I going to have an operation or would it be another day of waiting around?

I made my way to day surgery, as yesterday there was a quick flurry of activity. One of the docs came around and said, the consultant would be down in an hour to check me over. Either they would try and get me done today or I would be scheduled for another time.

To their word, they were back in an hour and that was when all hell broke loose. The consultant looked at my arm and was aghast, I had to be prioritised immediately because I was at risk. She sat me and my father down and then talked about what the operation would involve. She was open and honest and the potential danger I was under left me crying my heart out, I could lose my arm. I barely had time to take this onboard before I was wheeled down to theatre.

When I woke up in recovery, I have never been so relieved to feel my arm still attached to me. 

I was pleased to see my mother and father in the evening, before I then settled down to a morphine induced sleep.

Today I am thankful for:

1. Being still 100% intact
2. A brave consultant who made me a priority
3. My mum and dad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.