West Coaster

By WestCoaster

No Sub...stitute

Today the twins had a coaching session at the rink and as they warmed up off ice I nipped out to the docks. I am always drawn back to the docks, last visited after the shots inspired by memories after my meeting recently with Harry. I have retraced my walk that day several times looking to try and bump into Harry again. Sadly I have not met him again, I have been carrying an A4 print of that days shot She was beautiful once in the car, one for Harry, with his health failing I thought he may not be able to get to the river too much longer and maybe the print would help provoke his memory and to remember his days cruising the estuary.

In Ship Yard Blues I wittered a little about Scotts and it is to Scotts I returned, the derelict dry dock. I have been waiting for the right tide to get a shot and today the low tide and evening light allowed me the shot I wanted. The weed is creeping along the dock walls, the quay being reclaimed by the foliage, camouflaging the docks once hidden by the steel gates of the yard, secrets obscured from prying eyes.

As I have been typing I have just learned of the passing of my friend's dad. Matt always made you welcome, a fun man, a good man, a gentle gentleman. I am sad for my friend and her family tonight, I am stunned by the suddenness of Matt's passing, lost in my thoughts I have again sought solace in my music, I will be doing a series of shots inspired by music and lyrics soon; today was never going to be a day for lyrics but I felt that this lyric echoed my feelings. I hope you enjoy today's journal and enjoy the lyric despite its melancholic note...

On the street below these walls
Where I used to walk
Now I can barely crawl
All this darkness rising tall
Lord shine a light for me
I'm waiting to be called

I'm ready to go home
I'm ready to receive
Forgiveness for my sins
I'm ready to begin

Take this river to the sea
Where the Delta flows
The tide is washing over me
Guide this soul to Heaven's door
Show me where tomorrow lies
I'm waiting to be born

I'm ready to lay down
I'm ready now to sleep
A promise I must keep
I'm ready to go home

So tired I lay down
With these memories
Breathe shallow deep inside of me
If time has run its course with me
Then

I'm ready to go home
I'm ready to receive
Forgiveness for my sins
I'm ready to begin

When the evening shadows fall
When the time has come
I'll let defences fall
To surrender's to survive
I will give up everything
To those I leave behind

I'm ready to go home
I'm ready to receive
Forgiveness for my sins
I'm ready to begin

I'm ready to lay down
I'm ready now to sleep
A promise I must keep
I'm ready to go home

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.