West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Big Bird

I was pretty blue today, still trying to comprehend the suddenness of Matt's passing, it still seemed surreal, like I was suspended in the moment and that the news was something I had imagined. Sadly when arrangements began to circulate it was all too real and the realisation that that particular welcoming smile has faded is sadly sinking in.

I was not at all motivated this morning but having been restless I decided the best thing was to take myself out and walk, the river was calling and I answered. there was a breeze that kissed my face as I walked, it was cooler that early but with my jacket pulled up round my ears I enjoyed the freshness of the day it helping to lift my spirits of only a little.

I have been trying to catch the Herons for a while and never had anything I liked or would have used, this morning I happened upon one of the pair I have enjoyed watching this year. These birds are revered in some cultures vilified in others; I have always enjoyed them. I shot a few frames finally knowing I had something I could use for today. I set of back to the car, kicked of my boots and headed for the city. It was still early when I parked and I read my book for a while, just before 7 30 I had a sudden urge to text my friend, I told him I hoped everything was ok with him and his fiancee as their first child was due this Sunday.

I went to the office, still blue when I got a text back from my friend to call him as a matter of urgency, I was scared as I fumbled to dial the number, it rang and rang and then eventually clicked as he answered the familiar sound of phone being fumbled was heard as he tried to get phone to face, and I was greeted with the words Hello Uncle Grant!!!

My sombre mood was lifted in an instant, not to diminish the loss in any way but to hear of the safe arrival of a new life is always special, I could not have been happier for him and his family... The circle of life in a day, it is sad that families deal with the loss of loved ones every day but also as some have to mourn, others rejoice with in a new beginning.

I hope you enjoy today's shot, the reflection appealed to me and best viewed in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.