Winsford

By Winsford

Back for more ......

I thoroughly enjoyed the pre-show talk last night and the performance of Cinders!  In this version Cinders was a male and so we had Marge Hendrick dancing the princess. I thought she would be well suited to that role and she was. The dancers portraying the Thorne family were also especially good. Eden Court was virtually sold out which was great to see.


The talk was given by Oliver Rydout, the Director of Dance and Artistic Development. It was interesting to hear about the development process for Cinders and life on the road. He also share that although they planned for the prinicpal pairings to switch between roles (Cinders / Prince or Princess) in practice they tend to stick to one. 


We returned this morning to watch a company class - it was fun watching the Tamarin Stott the Rehearsal Assistant putting the dancers through their paces, starting with barre work with small movements and gradually progressing to leaps across the stage.  There was a Q&A with two of the dancers afterwards (Aisling Brangan and Eve Hocker whom we'd seen dance last). They were really engaging and candid. 


I decided book Swan Lake, their spring production, on my return. I checked availability for Sat matinees in both Inverness and Edinburgh and was surprised by how limited it was. I plumped for Inverness as I prefer Eden Court - in general I found the view of the stage better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.