Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Posh Home for BIrds

This was a Christmas gift, belatedly brought by Tim last week, weather, Covid threats and very late rising teenagers having prevented it getting here sooner. It is supposedly sprayed with something to protect it from weather, but there didn't seem to be much point in tempting fate by putting it out in time for more torrential downpours. I thought it was quite funny to see its juxtaposition with the Sonoma Home section of today's newspaper.

We went today to pick up a massive bag of pill bottles, most prescribed for me by the knee surgeon! I presume instructions will be forthcoming on their use. One of them is OxyCodone, the precursor to the infamous OxyContin, pushed so relentlessly as non-addictive that it was blamed for a national epidemic of addiction, overdoses and deaths, even after it's makers knew perfectly well that it can be addictive, especially as doctors were being encouraged to prescribe it.  Another was the one I have been trying to track down since Monday when we learned that the pharmacy had closed. It was all a reasonably smooth process, although going on a Saturday was not a good idea. John went along to register himself and make sure all his prescriptions had been transferred. It was a fairly seamless process, although walking into a glaringly bright building filled with everything from nail polish to groceries was hardly the experience we have gotten used to.

I took along my form for obtaining a temporary disabled person's parking placard to hand in at the Automobile Association's office which turns out to be closed on weekends. I put my name in the wrong order (not last name, first name, middle name) and will now have to go back to the doctor's office for another form as it states in fine print at the top that cross outs, corrections or use of whiteout will NOT be accepted...I don't anticipate driving for awhile but it also allows my driver to park in the designated disabled spaces as long as I am with him. It's not exactly a priority but makes me feel stupid having to go back there and admit that I blotted my copybook!

I hasn't rained yet but the sky has been getting darker all day. In answer to some questions, I suspect that the flooding pictures that have reached the UK and Europe are probably from Southern California which gets far less rain and is probably far less prepared for atmospheric river events. We have flooding, but it is in most cases more expected. We're still, however being warned to stay off the roads if at all possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.