simple moments

By simplemoments

basket…

…master

salt

with flowers

a snowed in day - made me glance around - my house and notice - my collection of - salt cellars so i - thought i’d share another - one, this time a master - master salts were known - not only for being larger - in size but also - primarily for use - in houses of - more social status - they typically sat - at the head of - the table with a - tiny silver spoon in them - and were then passed - around the table - once dinner had been - served to everyone

this particular master salt - was handmade in germany - meticulously handpainted with the - tiny flowers hand applied - and it most likely - dates to around 1890 or so - it is one of - the most precious masters - in my collection - puts a smile on my face - whenever i look at it - and always makes it…

a

happy day…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.