What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Clouds rolling in on Grisedale Pike

As tomorrow and Monday have rain & wind forecast, I thought today might be a good day to knock off the fells on the Coledale Horseshoe that were still outstanding, namely, Grisedale Pike and Eel Crag. Winds were forecast to be gusting 40mph, but with care, I knew this would be OK as the paths are fairly wide. Though I was ready to turn back if I thought it dangerous.

The extra shows Grisedale Pike as I approached the final climb - sunny patches and visually a nice day. What it doesn't show is the wind, which was picking up. Nearing the top it was still acceptable, but on passing over the summit, the wind was extreme - well over the forecast 40mph, I'd take a stab at 65mph, with total cloud and no visibility! There were a group of teenage girls just ahead of me who were being blown all over the place, and I did hear of a lady who was blown over and cut her head quite badly. I did have the benefit of my poles (and those of you who know me) and a fairly low centre of gravity, being fairly short. Never less that three points of contact with the ground, legs well apart and I managed to maintain some stability. Passing over Hobgarten Crag the wind did ease, and the path up Eel Crag was simply windy.

Made my way back to Braithwaite via the old mine road down the valley - certainly an exhilarating walk, and although 10 miles, it felt considerably more in the conditions, and with 3600 feet of climbing too. 

168/214

Knackered tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.