Bom

By Bom

Harvest Mouse

I met JohnRH & W this morning to do the Bayfield Bird Walk. I haven't done this walk for a couple of months as it gets very muddy when wet, but we haven't had much rain since the beginning of Jan so I thought it would be ok. Another mild day up to 13C, but very windy so it felt a bit colder. We were enchanted watching the pigs, and were laughing at them walking all over their food in the trough - see extra for a collage of photos. Near the river it was very muddy indeed, I suspect the river had overtopped at some point.

We stopped for refreshments at the delightful Natural Surroundings Cafe. I can't resist popping in the shed there to see how the harvest mice are getting on, there’s a breeding and reintroduction programme for them. There were  lots of them in the tanks today. They're very difficult to photograph as there's not much light in the shed and they're very quick, but this one was obligingly quite sluggish. When we arrived back at the car park we had a look around the gallery - so many lovely things I'd love to buy, but I've no room for them. A lovely walk with good company and lots of photo options. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.