a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Common Redpoll

I've seen these little fellows a couple of times this year, but I still haven't managed to get a shot that I'm happy with - but today's blip is definitely my best effort to date.  Common Redpolls are very small birds, and they don't stay still either, which makes them harder to get a decent shot of.  In my (limited) experience to date, they also seem to like to spend their time in the upper branches of trees which doesn't help to get a good angle on them.

My field guide says that the they feed in noisy well co-ordinated flocks, often with siskins.  But I've only ever seen a few of them at any one time this year - a group of 4 at most.

 The Redpoll's dark red foredhead and tiny bill help to distinguish it from the Linnet, with which it is often confused.  As it is currently winter here, this Redpoll isnb;t showing its characteristic pink breast markings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.