a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The hunt is on

The promise of a clear day, with some light high cloud saw me racing off to the Somerset Levels first thing.  As it was a Sunday I decided to steer clear of the more popular reserves for one which I thought would be a bit quieter.

It was quieter, but not just from a lack of people, there was also not that much bird life in evidence.  I stuck with it, and saw a pair of Great Crested Grebes dancing with each other, but too far away to make a decent shot.  By lunch time I'd not really got that much to show for my efforts, which was disappointing, but that is just the way it goes sometimes.

Then on my walk back out of the reserve I hit gold with a decent sequence of shots of a male Marsh Harrier quartering the reed beds.  In most of the shots he's a fair bit above the reeds, but for just a short while he almost skimmed their tops, and that's why I've chosen this shot.  He's also nicely coming to forwards on an angle so there's some good head and wing detail available if you care to look in large.

So in the end, what I thought was a bit of a disaster turned out to be a bit of a triumph.  Good luck is a funny old thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.