Pasternoster Square, London

... from the top of St Paul's Cathedral.

First time I've set foot in St Paul's since I was a child! Thought maybe 60-90 minutes should 'do it'. How wrong could I be! We spent half the day there. What an amazing and beautiful building! Climbed up hundreds of steps to reach fantastic views of London. Explored everything from the whispering gallery (and higher still) to the crypt, with its many tributes to people who've helped shape our country, from poets to artists to statesmen and women and royalty. Sir Christopher Wren did a very good job (understatement)! And there is even a smoke-stained statue of John Donne - one of the few survivals from the earlier St Paul's Cathedral as it was before the Fire of 1666.

Once again, the zoom on my little point-and-click camera, and further zooming on my laptop, never ceases to amaze me. Full size, before I reduced this picture, you could zoom in and almost see the expressions on these people's faces. Yet, to the naked eye, they looked like tiny ants running around the square. Thought it makes an interesting blip (and you're not allowed to take photos in the cathedral).

After St Paul's, we had time for another amble around Hyde Park. The weather stayed dry - and the sun even came out briefly. A fun day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.