While on my runs

By waipushrink

Breakfast of Karaka berries.

Sitting in my study after my breakfast of muesli, yoghurt and fruit I heard the Tui nearby, but couldn't see any. Then I noticed a Kereru on top of a very tall dead trunk of a Punga (tree fern). Obviously the one that Mr H and I had removed on Sunday was NOT the one that the Kereru used as a perch.

As I watched, the Kereru dropped down into the neighbouring Karaka tree and began eating the ripe berries.Knowing that opening the window would drive it away I focussed through the window, and am delighted with the result

Waitangi Day being a public Holiday I was at home. I had thought of attending a gathering, but I needed to do some work in the garden. Apparently the attendance at multiple gatherings to Honour the Treaty was very large. It will be great if the sense of community outweighs the money being put into disinformation and our founding document retains its place as has been determined in many ways over 184 years. 

As a country we need to care more for our disadvantaged citizens, whether they be children in poverty, old and poor, mentally ill, unemployed or low paid. There are those with excessive wealth (no one needs a billion dollars) who want to have even more. Changing the way the Treaty is interpreted is more likely to worsen conditions for all New Zealanders, but (shamefully) more so for Maori and Pasifika 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.