Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

A Gargantuan Glowing Golden Globe

SuperMoon rising over Scarborough Hill

I was waiting for this moonrise, having taken my camera & tripod up to the top of my drive, so I could get a clear view (such a long way - 2 minutes walk) but was unsure of the exact time it'd arrive. It's all very well getting the time for its rising out of the sea, but when it rises behind a hill it's a bit of a guessing game.

So I waited, and waited, and then couldn't believe my eyes when it first started appearing over the cloud, just above the hill - it was absolutely enormous. Almost unbelievably big. A huge glowing golden globe! Unfortunately the houses underneath aren't showing, because of that nuisance cloud, so you'll have to take my word for the moon's apparent size.

Lens: Nikon 70-200mm f4G ED + Nikon TC 1.4. D7100 on 1.3 crop

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.