Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Walk home

G didn't have to be in school early today, so I got a cup of tea before I left home! :))

It's getting harder to flag down a taxi in the mornings. I waited about five minutes and then ordered one via a local app (Careem). I watched on my phone screen as he drove towards me. He accepted the trip while he was near Wafi! Gosh. I was glad to be dropped off at work, wondering if I would make it alive. The guy drove like a maniac.

The workday passed nicely. My "desk buddy" was working from home today, so I didn't have too many little conversations. I got through quite a bit!

G had a 4get-me-not do in the afternoon. It was called "Storytelling with Dogs". Doesn't your mind just race with the possibilities of what that means? When G first mentioned it, I asked if the dogs would be telling humans stories, to which she immediately came up with a possible scenario. She said it's humans telling dogs stories. Hmmm. I think calling it Dog Tales would be cool. :)))

Anyway, long story short, Arab Health has given way to MedLab and other verticals, so I knew getting home would be a challenge. I decided to walk! For several reasons, mostly because I don't want to miss the beautiful weather we are experiencing this week.

I hid my laptop in a cupboard and made a start, taking home just my lunchbox. The lighting and weather were perfect. I wish I had a proper camera, but alas, that would have added weight, and it's the last thing I need. So, my picture of Dubai Frame, almost at the end of my walk, is taken on a phone.

G came home not long after me, and any thoughts of going out again to feel the chill soon vapourised. We had dinner before 7 PM and a quiet evening. Even the TV got switched off, seeing as there is currently an endless supply of junk on the free channels. G said that when it was her turn to read a story to Tess (the dog), she rolled over and fell asleep! G didn't take it personally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.