Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Hercules

I'm afraid I couldn't manage the Tiny Tuesday theme of 'something special' this week.  I mean, this is special, and it might be a comparatively small engine, but Tiny?  No.

I knew there was a guest engine coming to the railway today but wasn't sure when it was due to arrive.  Around 11.00am this morning I spotted on social media that it had arrived about half an hour earlier and was waiting to be unloaded so I headed off to the station for a look.  They had already got it pretty much off the lorry but with a small safety exclusion zone set up this is the best shot I could get.  It's due to start pulling trains from 17th February when the half term holidays start so I've no doubt I'll be getting a few shots of it in steam then.

For anyone interested it is an ex-GWR 2-8-0 tank engine No 4277, visiting from the Dartmouth Steam Railway which runs from Paignton to Kingswear.  It never carried a name in service but since preservation has been named 'Hercules'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.