WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Le petit St Michel

Sod's law, it was a beautiful almost windless day today. Would have been perfect for yesterday's walk. I did go for a short walk on one of my usual routes.

This cross among the vines is known as le petit Saint-Michel. In years gone by, the population of the village, along with the priest, used to walk to the chapel of Saint Michel to pray for rain. When the priest and many of the parishioners were getting on a bit, this cross served as a substitute, as it's only a few hundred metres from the village. Nobody goes there to pray for rain now, but it always has a little bunch of artificial flowers tied to it, more or less shredded by the wind, which someone replaces from time to time.


Settled in for the evening now -- I may stream a film later. Mystère is sitting on the coffee table looking at me in an aggrieved way because I haven't lit the fire. Not cold enough! The wood supply has got very low due to being here at a time of year when we are usually not, and I don't want to run out and then be hit by a cold snap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.