Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Lamb’s Tails

My sister came over to visit today - we usually see each other on Wednesdays. She told me she’d come across two lambs gambolling in the farmer’s field near her home, and wondered if they’d escaped from somewhere. However she quickly saw the Mummy sheep coming along after them, so left them well alone. No-one wants to be approached by a fiercely protective ewe defending her babies! She thought the lambs were maybe a couple of weeks old, and it seemed to us a bit early for them to have been born late January/early February. As well as the snowdrops and now daffodils coming into bloom, I’ve been noticing the hazel catkins - or lamb’s tails as they are known - starting to grow in number. The ones in my photo were waving about in the breeze beside the path I took home after visiting a friend later this afternoon. Another sign of spring slowly awakening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.