StephenF

By StephenF

Ripple effect across the pond

So, across the Atlantic in 1776, the 13 colonies began the revolutionary process that led to the War of Independence and the foundation of the USA. George lll has been blamed for losing the American colonies but, to that, I can now add bankrupting The Star Inn in Guildford in 1779 when British soldiers, due to embark from Portsmouth, were billeted at the hostelry. I hadn't seen this before but, as I was in Guildford High Street this afternoon, I took a look at The Star Inn as I've become aware of its reputation as a live music venue. It just shows how events in one part of the world can have all sorts of consequences, cataclysmic or banal, in distant places. Unfortunately I didn't have time to pop in for a pint of their finest but it's good to see that the pub rode out that particular storm nearly 250 years ago and continues to thrive today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.