KathyH58

By KathyH58

Merganser

Since we finished work at 3 pm today (I expected it to be closer to 4) I decided to stop at Sullivan's Pond on the way home. I knew there were some common mergansers there, I could see the bright white of them when I drove past on my way to work this morning. This is the female, she was closer to the side of the pond where I was. The males stayed further out in the middle. I was not dressed to go walking thru any of the deep snow, so had to stay on the paths that have been plowed.

Work went well today, as I said we finished by 3 pm. There was only 2 of us working, other days there has been 3 for the same size section. When I first saw that there was only 2 of us scheduled I asked my manager about it, she said as it was later in the season, we are expected to be faster. She said if I wanted, she could add another person to the schedule. After we did another store with 3 of us, I decided that 2 of us could handle it. I knew that the one working with me is a good worker. One more nail reline to do on Friday, where I am the helper and another one on Monday where I am the lead.

I guess the birds are sleeping late these days. Just one northern flicker and a couple of blue jays were at the feeder first thing this morning. When I came home this afternoon, the chickadees and pine warblers were around, as well as a sparrow and both northern flickers. The morning doves were here too, I had to shoo them off the railing a couple of times. I was going to leave the feeders out again tonight, but I looked out a few minutes ago and there was a raccoon on the deck, so I chased him away and brought the feeders in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.