FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Bestie on my Birthday

An afternoon and evening in London with my bestie Victoria for my birthday after a morning with mum and dad drinking coffee and reflecting on a lovely evening yesterday.

On arriving in London we had a ‘mooch’ around a few shops in Covent Garden. I bought three new hats from Accessorize (70% off sale I couldn’t resist), leg warmers from a ballet shoe shop and two new books from Waterstones.

Late brunch in the Avocado Cafe and we were joined by my filming friend (another Vicky) who happened to be in town for an evening event. The two V’s hit it off and we had a great catch up.

Delicious hot chocolate from some artisan chocolatier shop then a quick dash around Liberty’s and V treated me to some Aesop hand cream and herself to some make up.

Across the road to the Palladium to see Candace Bushnell’s show ‘Tales from Sex, Success and Sex in The City’. Candace’s one woman show of her career was frank, funny and inspirational…New York Times Best Selling Author seven times, feminist and the original Carrie Bradshaw who changed how we talk about sex and inspired a generation of women (and some men too) to believe we can be whoever we want to be.

The show was comprised of “Tales” told in a series of life lessons which were relatable, affirming and often hilarious such as:

“Men Lie”

“Be your own Mr Big”

“Your girlfriends will always be there”

After the show we saw Candace’s latest book for sale and V treated me to a copy and one for herself. How fabulous. Counting this one, the two books I’d bought earlier plus the two I’d received as gifts I’ve acquired five new books today. I love books so this makes me very happy.

We found an old wine bar and enjoyed a glass of crement de blanc champagne each and a cheese platter. V treated me as I’d insisted on buying the theatre and train tickets.

Turns out I don’t feel any older today. Yay! If anything me and V giggled just as we did at uni and felt like twenty somethings again! Wonder what the year ahead will bring…. but first I’ll start reading “Is there still Sex in the City?”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.