Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Wednesday: Banana Man

I’ve had a fascinating day!

Together with my visiting colleague, I went down to Independence to meet the banana growers’ association and to visit a banana plantation.  98% of the bananas exported from Belize are destined for the UK and Ireland, with the other 2% going to Spain.  

UK only gets premium grade because the supermarkets will only accept the most perfect fruit.  Anything bruised or scarred stays here or heads to Spain. Apparently we must have our perfectly curved bananas.

There is so much involved in growing and harvesting.  It’s a very labour intensive crop.  I’ve posted a few extras of the process but I don’t think I’ll take my bananas for granted again

I also packed a box of bananas for Morrisons.  If that’s where you buy your bananas I may have packaged them……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.