Grey on Green

18.9C with cloud cover brightening in the afternoon. Light breeze, warm.

Maeve the Deerhound and I spent some time in the garden this morning. I was feeding and watering plants in containers. Then I dug over the half of a veg bed that awaits the planting of leeks from the modules that are in the greenhouse. While we were away lots of weeds had taken over, so it needed clearing.

I started making the white line print that I cut the board for yesterday. The Machrie Moor standing stones with some hills beyond. The first paper that I tried didn't take the watercolour paint well. I threw that away and decided to try a slightly heavier paper. Still not what I wanted but I made a start before lunch.

After lunch Maeve and I went for a walk. We went down to the shore and wandered about on the beach for a while. We had the place all to ourselves again. I found a piece of transfer print ceramic and tried taking photos of it on one or two surfaces. The one I chose uses the dark green hull of a rowing boat as backdrop.

I have finished the first print from the board. I am not completely happy with the light watercolour paper. The print is ok though. My own watercolour paints were good and I could get the colour mixes I wanted quickly. We will probably have to order some paper more suitable for printing to get fully satisfactory results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.