Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

ANOTHER BUSY DAY...

...at the Community Fridge - but once again, I didn’t do a stitch of knitting but plenty of nattering.

I did, however, learn from a lovely man from Goa how to cook a good Goan curry and an Indian pudding, so it was definitely worth sitting and chatting to him.  He told me I should surprise my husband and perhaps I will!

I spoke to several other ladies too and listened while they told me their story - some very sad - and hope I was able to encourage them.  I gave away several of our little prayer books and even prayed with two ladies and invited them to come to Church.  It is so rewarding and I feel privileged to be able to share in their stories.  

Interestingly, someone from our Church sent me a message this morning with Bible verses from Psalm 3:2-3 - and those very same verses were on the UCB2 Radio programme as I listened on my way home.  Definitely re-enforcing for me that God is the one who “lifts up my head.”

My collage shows lots of the Hot Cross Buns that were at the Community Fridge today - but I have to say that the chocolate ones on the right don’t do anything for me - I prefer my Hot Cross Buns pure and unadulterated with just fruit and spice.  I didn’t collect any for Mr. HCB - as I’m not sure I could have resisted them, but I did bring some fruit cake for him and he enjoyed that with his afternoon cuppa.

Lots of over-ripe bananas today - and many people took them - spoke to one lady who said she mashes them up, puts them in the freezer and then uses them with other fruit to make a pudding - Mr. HCB would love that, but he likes lots of sugar on his, which I do tell him is not good for his waistline!

Apart from the cake, all I got - and this was for Mr. HCB too - was two small tiger bread batons and of course, although we can have 5 items, we still have to have them weighed, so that we can see how much is NOT going into landfill.  The clementines looked good today after the grotty ones had been sorted and thrown into the food waste bin and at the bottom left are the tulips I rescued last week and which are now standing resplendent in my beautiful black Wedgwood vase.  

It doesn't take much to rescue something and give lots of care and attention so that they can bloom as they should - and it's the same with people!

Take care everyone - as I type, the rain is lashing down and I went through quite a long stretch of road this morning that was badly flooded - no snow down here, but wonder if they got some in the north of England?  Stay safe and warm.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.