Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MORNING COFFEE ON WIDE WEDNESDAY

Mr. HCB suggested last night that we go out for coffee this morning and after that we could do some shopping at Waitrose, which is just the other side of the Hall & Woodhouse pub and restaurant.

I had a full card that entitled us to a free coffee and cake, so I let Mr. HCB have that and I just had an Americano with hot milk.  I then wandered off through the restaurant to find something for Wide Wednesday and saw this array of nets, ropes and other paraphernalia associated with canals and barges.  

According to Mr. Google : 

“H&W Wichelstowe celebrates 200 years of canal history and evokes a boatyard and trading hall. The design features a genuine canal boat emerging from the main building, as well as plenty of other canal-inspired memorabilia.”

The serving staff are always very helpful and polite so we had a lovely half hour here and then popped over to Waitrose - I had 6 items on my list, but we spent £55 - mmmmmm!  Reminded me of this quote:

“The odds of going to the store 
     for a loaf of bread and
          coming out with only a loaf of bread 
               are three billion to one.”
Erma Bombeck

P.S.  Just had a call from the Consultant's secretary at the clinic in Reading to ask about my back recovery and whether I was ready to have my knee replacement surgery.  I have told her that I don't think I am ready for major surgery so soon after my back operation so she said that she would have to take me off the list very soon.  I said that she should do that now, because if there was anyone else who needed the operation more, then it would be wrong of me to stay on that list.  She wished me well and said that if I wanted it done at a later date, then I would need to go back to my GP and be referred again.

Now going to spend the afternoon “shuffling paper” - and putting much of it in the recycling bin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.