IN THE AFTERNOON

I did my walk and hoped to find the damselflies that I had seen yesterday. No, not one showed up. And I don't blame them because the sky was overcast and only now and then some light shone through the clouds.
The blue beetle (actually I saw two of them) was a big surprise to me. In my guide book I could not find an insect that looked even a bit like this one.

My haiku:

Unknown blue beetle
And she had a companion
Together a pair?

And the proverb:

Men kan wel vuur slaan uit twee koude steenen.

Translation:

On can produce fire out of two cold stones.

Meaning:

One brings this proverb as an excuse when two old persons think of marrying.
It is obvious that this dictionary of proverbs is from old times, end of nineteenth century.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.