A DRAGONFLY LAYING EGGS

At first I did not realise what she was doing. Drinking? But not with her backbody for sure. She was so near and when she flew away for a moment she returned and started all over again.
I had seen a couple of dragonflies at the pond when I walked in the Heempark, fast and faster they flew, and even when they stopped for a second it was at a certain distance or I just had the wrong lens on the camera.
In the morning I had been doing some cleaning of the balcony, wednesday balconday (my own invention), after lunch I had want to sit and read first but seeing the clouds coming nearer I had decided to cycle to the park and try my luck.
And there it was, right in front of me. A dragonfly that posed (silly thought) so near, I had to kneel down, but I did it lightly. And we had some intimate moments together.
Laying eggs in the water, and in the wood too. As a madwoman I took pictures, a bit anxious to miss that one moment.

My haiku:

If the right moment
Comes as a surprise get it
Hold it, enjoy it then

And the proverb:

Wie wordt van geven rijk!

Translation: Who becomes rich from giving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.