Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Thirty Years On

It was a poignant and lovely day off for me (Annie) today. I went to my old University to meet up with three old friends, who I’d barely seen in the last 20-30 years. One lives in the States, one in Canada. Sadly they were over for a mutual friend’s funeral, but that does give you time to take stock, look back and catch up.

It was especially nice to see them because the period of my life they intersected most with was really tough. The pressure of Uni, mixed with coping with the death of a boyfriend and a mum in 2 years. It’s a period of my life that still feels raw and dark to me - but this meeting allowed me to thank them all for bringing some light into those times and keeping me going. Nice to show them my lighter side today!

The face on the right is (a different) Chris, who was the lovely person that still had an encyclopedia with an inscription from my mum in all those years later - as blipped here.

A good, cathartic day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.