Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Walsingham Abbey and the snowdrops

This morning I was awake at 6.50am as I had a sort-of-plan to go photograph the sunrise - it was cloudy so I lay in bed being lazy and undecided as to whether I should go out or not, but then about 20 minutes later there was an explosion of colour in the sky and I stupidly decided I would not get down to the waterfront in time to get some photos, so I missed photographing a beautiful sunrise. I have been kicking myself all day about that! It turned out to be a beautiful day today, sunny and mild and with no wind, a complete change from yesterday.

After breakfast we headed off to Walsingham Abbey as I wanted to see the snowdrops. I had found discovered (on social media, as you do) that this is the place to go to see spectacular snowdrops, and we were not disappointed. There were carpets of snowdrops under the tree canopy, it was just such a glorious sight. Walsingham Abbey has a history going back to 1061and today is a place of pilgrimage for Christians. The snowdrops were so beautiful that at first I had no idea how to photograph them, so I wondered around and then started taking photos. If you are interested to see more photos of this beautiful sight you can see them here.

We then went to Wells-Next-The-Sea where we had delicious coffee and a small sweet treat at The Two Magpies Bakery - both were scrumptious! I took some photos at Wells as the water was so calm, see the extra.

We were enjoying the good weather so much that we drove to Cley-Next-The-Sea where we went to the beach and I photographed the breaking waves and some birds flying over the marshes. I got some good shots of birds in flight thanks to the incredible tracking feature on my camera.

We stopped off at the pub in Cley for a light lunch, a delicious celeriac and apple vegan soup for me and mussels for Gavin. We finally got home in the late afternoon in time for Gavin to watch the rugby. We were delighted that Ben scored a try!

Tonight is another lazy night at home, I thoroughly enjoyed One Day on Netflix last night, I binged half the series and hope to finish it tonight.

Tomorrow we are meeting Inca and her family for a walk. Tommy arrives back tonight from his week of skiing in France, and he is driving to Norfolk from the airport to join Inca.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.