Kendall is here

By kendallishere

G.

As I have been documenting movements for social justice in Portland over the past 13 years, I have seen and recognized her many times, both before she converted to Islam and began wearing the hijab, and since. Finally we found time to meet for coffee and swap stories, and I’m glad we did.

I asked what drew her to Islam. She said the kindness of Muslims she knows here, the closeness of their community, the respect for elders, for women, and for each other. 

I am moved by her dedication to liberation for all people, her sense of being liberated through Islam, and her awareness (and amusement) at the typical westerner’s belief that Islam subjugates women. “Far from it!” she said, laughing. “Appreciating women for something other than how they look is hardly subjugation. Dressing and grooming for men’s approval in western culture is not freedom. I feel freer now than I ever have.” 

I said a bit more in my original post, but then I realized that I had said too much. I think I often do that, the more fool me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.