Cane Toad

This little fellow is out at the wrong time of year. He will be a bit nipply on Monday when the cold front comes through.

I think this Cane Toad is out because there has been soooo much rain recently. The ground is super saturated and the lower daytime tempratures are slowing evaporation. So at least some of the Cane Toad population must be thinking it's spring.

This one is only small. About the length of my thumb. They grow to about hand size though. If you look carefully you can see the poison sacs just above its front legs. You don't want to suck your fingers after touching one of these. They are also an introduced species and a real pest here in Australia.

Still, it was lucky I saw him on my walk with Jassy this evening. Otherwise I would have been scratching around for something to blip tonight.

Now to start updating my resume. I will be needing it soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.