Adam's Images

By ajt

Fire in the west

Another day and another glorious sunset over the skate park and football fields (you can just see the floodlights). I don't think the floodlights over the rugby pitches were on where I was, but the sky was really on fire this evening. I took several pictures and this is one of the better ones, but even so doesn't do it justice.


The dog doesn't care as he was chasing rabbits and rabbit smells. He was happy though and I enjoyed the walk.

It's good to walk the dog after work, when you are away from the constant stream of emails and Teams pings so you can think about things properly, and for a programmer it's important to be away from the computer, as you often have your best thoughts like that.  Many years ago when dabbling with programming at school, they made us write our programs on paper then type them in - I think because there were more of us that computers - but the practice of thinking of code away from the computer is a good one, as you can see the bigger picture better and play out the what ifs better in your head.

Having worked from home now for 6 or so years, I can't imaging working in an office again, it's distracting enough with email and Teams, being in a noisy space with other people would really make it super hard to get anything done and drop my productivity through the floor. I do miss seeing my colleagues, but open plan offices are utterly horrible spaces to work in and dreadfully distracting places to think.

Back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.