PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

More threads

This is a drawer full of oddments of stranded embroidery thread. Gathered over many years, quite a few came from cross stitch kits. For many years I loved doing cross stitch, I think I found it a relaxing thing to do and I had many kits. Sometimes I completed them, but I am afraid I had a habit of starting new ones and then getting bored and putting them aside. 

A few years ago I had to be honest with myself and realise that these unfinished pieces were not going to be finished - I was onto more creative things and my eyesight was no longer good enough anyway. So, I dismantled them all and retrieved the unused threads. They stayed for many years in a messy tangle - some unsatisfactorily wound onto bits of card.

 Until I discovered these little bobbins and I painstakingly wound every thread onto its own bobbin, a task I have only just completed. (I know they are plastic bobbins, but they will last forever and be used over and over again.) I have been watching some videos of sewers and seeing some of them with their bobbins  in trays all organised by colour - impressive. I know I like things tidy but I am not that serious an embroiderer and I actually like seeing these all together like this when I open the drawer - which is why they are my blip for today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.