Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

The mole catcher's assistant....

A horrible dap morning with thick mist,but not cold. Had one young calf to jag for pneumonia yesterday. It's weather like this,cold and frosty one day,foggy and mild the next that's ideal for kicking things off. Fingers crossed that the pneumonia vaccine is still doing it's bit.
A morning spent feeding coos as usual then after lunch ,once the mist had lifted, nipped out to check my mole traps.
The fields we mow for silage have a lot of moles making a mess . The soil from the mole hills damages the mower blades,and if the soil contaminates the silage it can cause a disease called listeriosis in the sheep and cattle. In the good old days I used to pay a guy a couple of hundred quid to go round the whole farm with stricnine. Since they banned it we now have to fight a losing battle using traps. I used to pay another guy £15/HR to trap them but it was costing a fortune so I'm back to doing it myself. When I was a wee boy it was how I earned my pocket money. My Dad payed me the princely sum of 10 p a mole,and I thought I was a millionaire !
We only control the moles on the fields we mow,they have free range over the other 2500 acres so it doesn't have a big effect on them .
The terrier fair enjoys helping......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.