ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Processes

The byproduct of deseeding dried chillies in preparation for making harissa paste. Both of us have been suffering for the rest of the day from the inability to remove the residue of the dried chillies from our hands!

Making the harissa, with some dried chillies from Zimbabwe, inspired Mr A to make a delicious chicken and fruit tagine for supper. And there's enough left for another meal.

We've just concluded a really lazy and very relaxed weekend. I've not left the house today. It was horrible weather again this morning, and by the time I thought of going for a walk, I realised it was only 15 minutes before the start of the Ireland vs Italy rugby match, which was a very enjoyable watch (and much more relaxing than either of yesterday's matches). And by the time the rugby was over, it was basically dark and Mr A had given us some beer to drink. So no walk today.... However, earlier on I did manage to take 45 minutes exercise on and next to my peloton in my study. It's a bit cramped, but it works reasonably ok. I've had a couple of things that have stopped me taking a wider range of exercise. A sore hip last summer and then more recently a cyst or some sort of bursitis in my left elbow. Basically, tennis elbow without playing a stroke. It's got a bit better in the last few weeks, so I dared to lift a few weights yesterday and today. Hopefully with no ill effects. Mind you, I've got another niggle emerging. It feels like I've sprained my foot.... If it's not one thing, it's another.

Anyway, it's been good to hang out at home in Edinburgh this weekend. We've sorted out a few bits and pieces in the kitchen that needed sorting out, like the filters on the cooker extractor hood. We've caught up on University Challenge. And we've started watching a new Simon Reeves series about remote places. And there was rugby to watch, beer to drink, and good food to eat. A much needed chilled weekend.

Now I'm trying to finish a couple more stories in the Claire Keegan collection Antartica in preparation for Book Group next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.