iaint

By iaint

Al-Shaan

My batteries have needed a re-charge today. 

I awarded myself a proper Sunday. Reading. Eating. A wee nap. Sunday stuff. 

I forgot to Blip my lunch which is about the only thing I put any real effort into. Instead, I have a cookbook and a bunch of coriander. One of my wee pleasures recently has been finding a shop where I can rely on fresh coriander being available - and without the reams of plastic wrapping which supermarkets regard as essential. 

What Al-Shaan stocks is cheaper, fresher and almost plastic free (an elastic band - re-usable obviously - is the exception). Trouble is (and it is a lovely problem to have) the bunches are about three or four times bigger than I need. 

Some went into last week's soup, and today some more went into the ande bhujia* I made for lunch. The other ingredients are eggs, tomatoes, red onion, crushed black pepper, toasted and ground cumin, and a chilli pepper (seeds included). A real explosion of flavours. 

My coriander is staying fresh quite well, so another coriander dish will be on tomorrow's menu. 

Right... back to my book now. Have a good week, y'all!

* Indian style scrambled eggs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.