Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Chimney pots and mountain tops!

At first it looked like yet another 'nothing doing' day, weather-wise, but as I sat by the window enjoying my breakfast I was surprised by a noisy hail shower! It didn't last long and Mrs M and I decided to walk down to the town to buy a paper.

It was quite chilly, but the sun came out and we had a walk along the sea front, looking across the bay to the scattering of snow on the mountains of Mull.

On the way back we walked along Taylor's Brae and for once I found a good backdrop to the red finial, or whatever it's called, on the roof of the Rockfield Centre - previously the local school. 

Coming up our road I spotted a blackbird on a neighbour's fence. He didn't seem to bothered so I snapped him for my extra today.

After my comment yesterday about kids doing what they want where they want, my daughter sent me a couple of quotes and asked me to date them. Assuming they were not recent, I suggested 1750!

I later looked them up. I was wrong - here they are with their dates!

“What is happening to our young people? They disrespect their elders, they disobey their parents. They ignore the law. They riot in the streets inflamed with wild notions. Their morals are decaying. What is to become of them?” Plato, 4th century BC!
 
“We live in a decaying age. Young people no longer respect their parents. They are rude and impatient. They frequently inhabit taverns and have no self control” Found on an ancient Egyptian tomb!

Nothing new under the sun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.